Tourism Society Virtual Think Tank

Wednesday July 08, 2020


Join the TS Think Tank Wednesday 08 at 12.30 pm to hear from the UK's Tourism Alliances and how recovery is shaping up in their jurisdictions.

This session will be chaired by the Tourism Society President, Lord Thurso


John Thurso 

John sat in the House of Lords between 1995 and 1999 and from 2001 to 2015 was MP for Caithness, Sutherland & Easter Ross. In 2003 he was awarded a ‘Catey’ for services to tourism, was made an honorary DBA by Oxford Brookes in 2004, is a Master Innholder, a Fellow of The Institute of Hospitality and is President of the Tourism Society. In 2014 he was made a Privy Councillor by The Queen.  


Kurt Janson 

Kurt worked first worked for the New Zealand Department of Conservation on the development and implementation of strategy. He moved to Britain in 1997 to work as Policy Manager for the English Tourist Board and the British Tourist Authority. He became the Head of Strategic Planning for VisitBritain, then  in 2004 to ran the Tourism Alliance, an umbrella trade association for the tourism and hospitality sector.



Marc Corthall

Appointed as the first CEO of the Scottish Tourism Alliance (STA) Marc has been at its helm since its inception in 2012. He is responsible for the day to day operations and leadership of the organisation which is the overarching tourism industry trade body and acknowledged as being “The lead representative voice of Scotland’s Tourism Industry”..  


Andrew Campbell

Currently Vice Chair of Pembrokeshire Tourism & he also sits on various committees which includes Visit Wales SW Regional Forum, Carmarthenshire County Council Destination Management Team, Steering Group for the proposed Wales School of Hospitality, St David’s Diocesan Faith Tourism Group, North Pembrokeshire Transport Forum.



Contact for joining instructions 

Venue Information


Book a place at this event »