Press Release: Tourism Society New Chairman Announced

Friday July 13, 2012

David Curtis-Brignell FTS was elected as the new Chairman of the Tourism Society during the Society’s annual conference in London on 12 July.

 On taking on the role, Curtis-Brignell, who has been a member of the Society since its earliest days in 1977, said “I am honoured and delighted to take on this role and will serve the Society’s membership and support our hard-working executive team in the office to the best of my ability.”

He thanked Alison Cryer FTS and Ken Robinson CBE FTS who have worked with him as a "coalition chairmanship" for the past seven months following Aviva Pearson’s decision to stand down as chairwoman earlier in the year due to work commitments abroad.

Five new board members were also elected at the AGM: Hayley Beer MTS, Mike Bugsgang FTS, Chris Evans FTS, David Friesner MTS and Veronica Tonge MTS. Existing board member Sandra Matthews-Marsh MTS was elected as the new Vice-Chairman.