University of Surrey wins major tourism award

Monday April 29, 2013

University of Surrey wins major tourism award

At the Tourism Society Annual Dinner on Thursday 25th April 2013 in the House of Commons, the University of Surrey was presented with the coveted annual Tourism Society Award in recognition of its work with tourism students for forty years and for pioneering the first university courses in tourism.

Tourism Society President, Lord Thurso MP FTS, presented the award to Professor John Tribe FTS from the university. In his acceptance speech, Professor Tribe paid tribute to his predecessors who developed the first courses, Professors A.J. Burkhart and S. Medlik and also to Professors David Airey FTS and Victor Middleton OBE FTS who were also present at the dinner.

Lord Thurso quoted from the citation, saying: “The University of Surrey’s contribution to the development of the body of knowledge for tourism is considerable. Through establishing the first courses, writing the first textbooks and journals and setting up the industry’s professional body, the academic staff had, and continue to have, a significant impact on the understanding and spread of tourism theory and practice. It is entirely appropriate that the University of Surrey should be recognised as a leading international centre for excellence and a significant contributor to professionalism in the sector.”

The Tourism Society is the only professional organisation for people working across all sectors in the industry and was founded in 1977 shortly after the first course in Surrey had been completed. Many of the Society’s members were Surrey graduates and student membership of the Society is currently an active and growing section of the membership.