The Tourism Society Award 2012 Winner The Springboard Charity

Monday April 30, 2012

Last week at The Tourism Society's Annual Dinner, Lord Thurso MP FTS, (The Society's President) announced The Springboard Charity and Springboard UK Ltd as this year's winner of the prestigious Tourism Society Award.

Following in the footsteps of previous winners Michel Roux Jr, The National Trust and the producers of the ‘Coast’ series as organisations and individuals that have made a significant contribution to the UK's Tourism Industry, Anne Pierce MBE Chief Executive of Springboard collected the award and spoke of the dedication and support Springboard provides in helping young, unemployed and disadvantaged people into careers in hospitality, leisure and tourism.

The Society's Annual Dinner, sponsored by was held in the Members’ Dining Room inside The House of Commons and was attended by over 50 industry representatives. The after dinner speeches were delivered by Brigid Simmonds OBE FTS, Chief Executive of the British Beer & Pub Association and Chairman of Tourism Alliance, and Ufi Ibrahim, Chief Executive of the British Hospitality Association.